Cycling to Arbroath

It was going to be a nice, sunny Saturday. Only 17 miles to go. Last week I ran nearly 10 miles, so maybe I’ll be able to go 35 by bike… If there is anything interesting on my way, I’ll just check that out. So that’s how my trip began! 🙂

Po polsku:
Rowerem do Arbroath


I had my first stop 500 yds from home… in the park in front of my flat. I saw plenty of daffodils! Well, in Scotland you can find these flowers nearly in every park or home garden! They are planted even next to the road!

Then I passed Broughty Ferry castle, but stopped at Reres Park, because the gate leading there seemed interesting to me. Of course, I found some Queen Victoria accent. As everywhere. 😀

Then I stopped at Monifieth coast. The beach was narrow and the coast was build from some big stones. I talked with a local lady about tourist attractions nearby.

I wanted to get on my bike and continue my way, but only like 200 yds I found the great broad sand beach! I decided to walk bare feet. Sand touned out to be quite warm and the sea wasn’t as freezing as Loch Ness few weeks ago. Then was a chill out time to let my feet dry. I deserved such relax after all week practice in the laboratory. 😉

Next to the entrance to the beach I found a semicircle made of stones. On each of them there was a line from the lyric “The wild Geese” by Violet Jacob from 1915.

[…] ‘And far abune the Angus straths
I saw the wild geese flee,
A lang, lang skein o’ beatin’ wings,
wi’ their heids towards the sea,
And aye their cryin’ voices trailed
ahint them on the air –’ […]

After few miles I got to Barry, the town, about which I heard from my lab colleague. There I saw Barry Mill sign. I decided to check this out. It is an old mill located at Barry Burn river.

Barry Mill building was constructed in 1814 after the previous one was burnt. But some parts of the new mill are estimated to be from 1539! They work until now. You can see the mill working every Sunday.

After next 10 miles I finally got to Arbroath. First thing I saw was a sculpture of Declaration of Arbroath. It is a declaration of Scottish independence from 1320. The letter was presented to pope John XXII. It enabled Scotland to use military force when being unjustly attacked. According to Wikipiedia, you can find this sentence there:

…for, as long as but a hundred of us remain alive, never will we on any conditions be brought under English rule. It is in truth not for glory, nor riches, nor honours that we are fighting, but for freedom – for that alone, which no honest man gives up but with life itself.

IMG_20170408_150911.jpg

Then I saw a sign for Kerr’s Miniature Railway. I checked their website. It says there are seven locomotives. And that it’s fun not only for children. 😀

It was first opened in 1935. The railway remains privately-owned and is run by unpaid volunteers.

The ride by mini-train costs 1,5 pound. It’s not much, but it was only one locomotive riding and two standing somewhere nearby; few others are not available nowadays. It’s for sure an interesting place, but I’m not sure if it’s worth paying for 5 minutes ride when being an adult… 😉

In Arbroath I saw a building looking like a smaller lighthouse. It was a Signal Tower, which is a museum nowadays. Signal Tower communicated with a lighthouse located on a Bell Rock 11 miles from the coast. It was built because the rock was a great danger for ships coming to Arbroath. It was 1427 feet x 300 feet and hidden under 12 feet of water. After some tragic accidents the government decided to build a lighthouse to warn about the danger.

(click in the photos for more interesting facts)

And few more photos of Signal Tower. And me 😉

There is a port just next to the Signal Tower. Or, the Signal Tower is just next to the harbour. I had a great time there watching seagulls (or what it is), listening to waves and breathing the sea air (it smells differently, doesn’t it?).

I also tried local fish and chips. Luckily, I asked for a small portion, which I could barely eat.

The last place I wanted to see was Arbroath Abbey. Now ruined, the Abbey was first funded in 1178 and consecrated in 1197. It started to decay after the reformation.

This is also the place where the Stone of Destiny was found next to the altar in 1951 after being stolen from Westminister Abbey. I wrote about the Stone of Destiny in a post about the Edinburgh Castle.

I decided to go back to Dundee by the North Sea Cycle Route. It goes around the North Sea and has more than 3700 miles! The road lead through beautiful landscapes. But it was a bit windy because of closeness to the coast.

I stopped at the castle in Broughty Ferry to watch the sunset from there.

Talking about the Broughty Castle… It was built in 1495 (Wikipedia). The castle was attacked for example in 1651 by General Monock during Wars of Three Kingdoms. It was bought by Edinburgh and Northern Railway in 1846. Few years later the castle was rebuilt and fortified (because of the fear of French invasion). The building was in military use until 1932 and in years 1939-1949. 20 years later it was opened for visitors as a museum.

All my trip was 43 miles and it took me 8/9 hours (including visiting towns on my way). Google showed that the route will be completely flat. It wasn’t bad. Hills marked on my Runkeeper map weren’t very bad and I managed to do this trip without any sport preparations. 😉

all road trip plus minus

It was another nice sunny day in Scotland! 🙂 And I think it was a very good bike trip. 🙂


Tekst po polsku: Rowerem do Arbroath

One thought on “Cycling to Arbroath

Skomentuj

